Sermon for 1-19-13; John 1:29-42

Chris will attest that I am a bit forgetful.  I am a clutz.  I often lose things.  I promise you that my desk will probably very rarely be clean–but I usually know where things are.  I call it organized chaos.  It may not make sense to you, and, in fact, it may drive you crazy, but it makes sense to me.  While I was in seminary, I was told that I might have adult ADHD and the more I research it, the more I believe it to be true.  So, sometimes my ADHD comes out a little stronger than other times.  The point of me sharing all of this with you is this: a week hardly goes by that I don’t say to
someone (usually it’s Chris) “I can’t find what I need” or “I can’t find what I’m looking
for.”  True story: I once looked all around the house for my glasses which were on my
face!
At other times, I don’t know what I’m looking for.  I am guessing that I am not
the only person who has stood in front of the fridge, door open, and said (or thought)
I just don’t know what I want.  I do the same thing sometimes in my closet.  The good
thing is, I rarely do this when I’m driving.  If I don’t know where I’m going, I’ll pull out
my trusty GPS and have it tell me where to go instead of wandering.  I’m all for a good
Sunday drive; but not when I have someplace to be by a certain time.
Jesus asks his disciples, and by default then, us, an interesting question today
“what are you looking for?”  Now all my professors in college would have said this
question should have been worded “for what are you looking” but I am not one to
correct Jesus’ grammar.  Sometimes I wish that the Bible had a voice over or at least
a way of knowing how certain sentences were said.  Because we don’t know if this
was casual Jesus asking this question, or serious Jesus, or Rabbi Jesus, or what…
Now, what is interesting about this confusing reading (and believe me, I get just as
confused reading these passages at times as you may) is that this is the first thing we
hear Jesus say in the Gospel of John.
Jesus doesn’t say “I am the Messiah” or “come, follow me” or even “what’s for
dinner” but instead he asks “what are you looking for?”  It’s an interesting question
because he says “what” not “who” are you looking for.  And just as Jesus did, did he
know the answer already?  Did he know what the disciples were going to say?  Now,
the disciples had already (literally) started following Jesus.  They had heard John
proclaim that this man was the Lamb of God.  In fact, in this passage, we hear Jesus
referred to in that way twice.
I have to imagine that Jesus almost got fed up with the disciples following him
and finally just broke and said “what are you looking for??”  What did the disciples
expect?  Did they expect to see miracles?  I mean, this man had already been
pegged as the Lamb of God.  So, what were the disciples waiting to see?  Now, I am
in no way comparing myself to Jesus but I do love the look on people’s faces when
they are in conversation with me for a while and when they finally ask what I do and I
tell them “I’m a pastor” they then just stare.  I don’t know what they were expecting.
It’s as if people expect me to break out into a sermon at any time.  It’s not a party
trick, folks.
What are you looking for?  That seems like a weighted question.  The answer
could be a simple “I don’t know” or it could be a very heavy and confused “I don’t
know.”  Are you looking for a different job?  Are you looking for a better day?  Are
you looking for light in the darkness?  Are you looking for hope?  Laughter? Love?
Answers? A cure? Direction? Time? Rest? Relaxation? Are you looking for things to
speed up?  Perhaps you’re looking for things to slow down?  Are you looking for the
“you” you once knew or the “you” you’d like to be?  What are you looking for?  I
believe in leading by example; so, here’s what I am looking for today.  Ask me this
again in a week and my answer may change.
I am looking for peace.  I am looking for time.  I have been struggling with time
management lately and I hate that.  I am looking for patience–mainly with myself.  I
am looking for forgiveness–also with myself.  I am usually the last person to forgive
myself, if that makes sense.  And, of course, as a newer parent, I always looking for
extra sleep.
What do you think those disciples were looking for?  We really don’t know
because the disciples didn’t directly answer Jesus.  Maybe they were wondering if
they really found him–if he really was the Lamb of God.  Were they staring in awe
and wonder?  Were they staring in confusion and bewilderment?  Maybe like we often
do and say, the disciples didn’t know what they were looking for.  Would they have
known in if they saw it?  Did they have any idea that what they were looking for was
right in front of them?  Do you?
Brothers and sisters, we live in a world that is constantly telling us we don’t
have enough stuff, we aren’t good enough at what we do, we don’t look the right way,
we don’t act the right way, that we aren’t the best we could possibly be.  Millions and
millions of dollars are spent yearly, maybe even daily, for us to find what it is we’re
looking for and how crazy the world would think of us if we said “all I ever needed is
given to me for free.”
Because as you may recall (I said last week) we are claimed in the waters of
baptism.  God marks us with the cross of Christ forever marking us as God’s beloved
children.  If you’re looking for more, there is a fantastic meal waiting for you at this
table: the body and blood of Jesus Christ.  As if that’s not enough, if you’re still
looking, look no further than the cross.  In the cross we are given everything we could
possibly be looking for: freedom from sin, wholeness, healing, life eternal.  What else
could you be looking for.  Society, the media, friends, family, etc… all tell us what
they think we’re missing, what we should be looking for.  When really, the only thing
we need has already been given to us in the cross.
I’m a fan of the band U2, and they’ve been around for quite a while.  They have
this great song called “I still haven’t found what I’m looking for” and there is a verse
that goes “You broke the bonds and you loosed the chains, carried the cross of my
shame, of my shame–you know I believed it.”  This is what Christ has done for us:
broke the bonds and chains of sin on the cross.  Our freedom was bought with his
blood.  Friends, I’m not telling you that you’re not going to go through periods of
searching in your life, or that you may not know what you’re looking for.  It’s in those moments that maybe what you’re looking for has been here all along: cleansing waters, a fulfilling meal, and forgiveness in a cross.
One thought on “Sermon for 1-19-13; John 1:29-42

Leave a Reply

